a slow emergence-y

this is from Kathy for me. we were together in the Social Sculpture course in Oxford (more detailed post coming soon) and we came to talk about the unfolding of entanglements, slow emergence, the emergency of change and i told her about a nice word-bounce i had with Tim Merry in a thread early 2010 around ‘grounded excitement’ and ‘patient urgency’. a few days later she gave me a lovely tiny booklet that unfolds this little story :) will scan it soon instead of taking photos to get better quality.

…here two pictures of an absolutely amazing tree here in a park in Oxford (where the green arrows points) that Kathy showed to us. it’s an old tree that has been cut off by a lightning but two of his branches reached into the ground like elbows and from there two full new trees came up decades ago and stand strong on their own today. it’s really impressive to see this!

Published by

Benjamin Aaron Degenhart

Currently pursuing a Masters in Computational Science and Engineering at TU Munich.

4 thoughts on “a slow emergence-y”

  1. Ciao beautiful Benjamin!

    I just read your blog and, of course, my mind has gone immediately to pag. 113-114 of The Legacy of Luna, the book written by Julia Butterfly Hill about her incredible experience (738 days on top of an ancient redwood called Luna in Northern California):

    “I knew I was going to die. The wind howled. It sounded like wild banshees, rrahh, while the tarps added to the crazy cacophony of noise, flap, flap, flap. bap, flap, blap!
    Had I remained tensed for the sixteen hours that the storm raged, I would have snapped. Instead, I grabbed onto Luna, hugging the branch that comes up through the platform, and prayed to her.

    ‘I don’t know what’s happening here. I don’t want to go down, because I made a pact with you. But I can’t be strong now. I’m frightened out of my mind, Luna, I’m losing it. I’m going crazy!’

    Maybe I was, maybe I wasn’t, but in that moment I hear the voice of Luna speak to me.

    ‘Julia, think of the trees in the storm.’

    And as I started to picture the trees in the storm, the answer began to dawn on me.

    ‘The trees in the storm don’t try to stand up straight and tall and erect. They allow themselves to bend and be blown with the wind. The understand the power of letting go. Those trees and those branches that try too hard to stand up strong and straight are the ones that break. Now is not the time for you to be strong, Julia, or you, too, will break. Learn the power of the trees. Let it flow. Let it go. That is the way you are going to make it through this storm. And that is the way to make it through the storms of life.’

    Thank you, Ben, for bringing back this amazing lesson into my day!

    Joyous love,

    milena

    Like

Leave a Reply

